My thoughts on the article entitled: 10 Pros and Cons of a Flipped Classroom by Mike Acedo

I chose to read the article “10 Pros and Cons of a Flipped Classroom” by Mike Acedo to further my understanding of this practice for possible application in courses I present.  Here’s the link to the article: http://www.teachthought.com/trends/10-pros-cons-flipped-classroom/.

Initial questions for me include: Does a flipped classroom work well for all students regardless of ethnicity, personality, or individual attributes?  Does a flipped classroom work well for all courses?  I’m currently presenting courses in Algebra and Trigonometry, Statistics for Geographic Information Systems, and Legal Survey.  Last year I presented courses in Management (Supervision), Human Resource Management, Diversity and Workplace Culture, and Legal Surveys.

So far in my teaching career I’ve used a teacher-centered approach (lectures) to present course material.  Virtually all courses I’ve taken as a student prior to CAE courses have been delivered by lectures.  As an instructor or student I can recall way too many instances of Mike Acedo’s description of some students in a classroom – idly sitting, eyes glazed over, half listening.  There must be a better way.

Of particular interest to me in Mr. Acedo’s five pros is the advantage of giving students more control over the timing and pace of their learning.  Another point of interest that caught my attention over others was the ongoing availability of lecture material when students or the instructor miss scheduled class time due to interruptions such as illness, family events/emergencies, sports…).

Regarding the five cons, the biggest challenge may be achieving student buy-in to the flipped classroom in that success, in part, will require students to active participation in this approach; i.e., consciously watch the online-lectures prior to the class time where the focus will be on further understanding the material.

On balance, I think a flipped classroom should be seriously considered for greater education of students.

2 thoughts on “My thoughts on the article entitled: 10 Pros and Cons of a Flipped Classroom by Mike Acedo

  1. I agree the flipped classroom may be a difficult concept for students to “buy into” I recently tried asking the students what they want to learn today about the course objectives. Prior to beginning my traditional lecture I reviewed the course objectives and asked the student what they wish to learn or inquire about. I actually had a student say I want you to tell me what is on the exam. I am pretty sure my jaw dropped. I am going to continue to try with this method of the class room flip as a small change to my traditional delivery. I think that if I begin the upcoming courses with the format it may be easier to get the students on board rather then beginning this method part way into the current running of a course.

    Like

  2. Wayne,

    Your question: “Does a flipped classroom work well for all courses?” makes me think in a scenario that I face with some theoretical courses. In such courses such as Java, it is very difficult for me to find ways to teach in a student center scenario. Since most of the time is spent lecturing in a teacher center scenario. I believe a similar situation happens with the courses you deal with.
    In the other hand, I also deal with courses like Computer Architecture where there is no much theory and lost of hand on. In those courses, the best is just make questions to students and let them discover the knowledge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

