Three Technologies I’d like to Use in My Teaching

Photography, webquests, and google forms are three technologies I’d like to use for teaching in my Legal Surveys course.

UAV (Helicopter) with CameraPhotography: I’d like to take still and motion photography of land surveyors and land survey technologists at work in rural and urban Manitoba and present the photos and videos to my class through presentation software like Prezi and Animoto. I’d use both aerial and terrestrial platforms to generate this photography, which would focus on Manitoba’s systems of survey, kinds of legal surveys, types of survey monuments and land boundaries, and forms of land boundary evidence. The aerial platform would consist of UAVs (unmanned aerial vehicles; i.e., unmanned helicopters and fixed wings) with cameras attached. The terrestrial platform would consist of a person using a handheld camera. This initiative will allow me to bring the field into the classroom to complement some modules and many lessons of study. The purpose of using this technology is to further my students’ knowledge of the physical elements that underpin legal survey work.

WebquestWebquests: I’d like to use webquests to explore land boundary law and have students present their findings to me and the class for grading. I’d give students the grading rubric. Students would work in groups of two or three with each group having a different land boundary dispute to investigate, analyze and conclude. I’d give each group a number of facts and opinions from a field investigation and websites of case law decisions relevant to their scenario to explore. I’d expect students to apply legal principles (doctrines) and rules of evidence to reach an opinion on the location of their disputed land boundary. The purpose of this initiative is to enhance my students’ knowledge of legal principles and the nature of evidence at an elementary level. It would also help students value the benefit of collaborative work.

Google FormsGoogle Forms: I’d like to use google forms for quizzes and student feedback. This course is challenging. It contains eight modules of complex material, delivered over 115 lecture hours at five hours per week. On a weekly schedule I’d use multiple choice, checkboxes, chose from a list, text and paragraph text questions to evaluate my students’ knowledge of presented material. On a weekly bases I’d use paragraph text, scale and grid questions to inquire about how the students feel they are progressing with the course assignments, projects and material. The purpose of these forms is to evaluate how students are progressing with course material and to examine students on their acquired knowledge. Their responses will give me insight for mid and post course adjustments.

Leave a Reply

